Shillong Customs and Central Excise Collectorate was created on 01.04.47 with the Collector, Calcutta holding the additional charge of the Collectorate.  However, with the posting of a Collector in the month of March, 1951 a full-fledged Collectorate started functioning having territorial jurisdiction over the whole of North East India.

                   The Collectorate was combined for both Customs and Central Excise till its bifurcation in the year 1993 when a separate Customs (Preventive) Commissionerate was created out of the integrated Collectorate (Commissionerate).  Thereafter in December 2002, consequent to cadre-restructuring in the Department, the creation of the Chief Commissionerate of Central Excise & Customs was effected headed by a Chief Commissioner having administrative control over re-structured Shillong Central Excise Commissionerate, Dibrugarh Central Excise Commissionerate, Guwahati Central Excise Commissionerate, Customs Commissionerate (Preventive), North Eastern Region, Shillong and Commissionerate of Central Excise (Appeals), Guwahati.

Subsequent to implementation of GST on July 1, 2017, the Commissionerates were restructured as- Agartala GST Commissionerate, Aizawl GST Commissionerate, Dibrugarh GST Commissionerate, Dimapur GST Commissionerate, Guwahati GST Commissionerate, Imphal GST Commissionerate, Itanagar GST Commissionerate, Shillong GST Commissionerate, Customs Commissionerate Shillong, Customs and GST Appeals Commissionerate and GST Audit Commissionerate.

The Office of the Chief Commissioner is now situated at GST Bhawan, Kedar Road, Machkhowa, Guwahati—781001 Phone No. 0361-2735999, Fax – 0361-2735979, E-mail :, Website :

Content maintained and updated by : Office of Chief Commissioner, Goods & Services Tax And Customs, Guwahati Zone
Queries / comments regarding the content on this site may be sent to